Crazy Quilt-Making Ambition Goes Awry

3 quilts done!

She’s back at the sewing machine. She’s not too thrilled with the current sewing facilities, but she’s making do. Well, that’s my update. Imminent childbirth by two extended family members has me sewing baby quilts like a mad thing. I’m not complaining, it’s wonderful celebrating the arrival of a new baby with a colorful quilt. The madness comes from a naive notion of trying to use all the fabric I purchased. I think it’s locking me into a perpetual sewing cycle . . .

Perhaps that statement needs clarification. Two babies, two quilts: purchase one stash of fabric of sufficient yardage to make a pair of quilts and then make another from the leftover scraps. Three quilts from one fabric purchase. That was my goal.

Big Charming pattern by Denyse Schmidt

I started with a baby quilt model: Denyse Schmidt’s Big Charming quilt pattern. It’s pretty, modern, and super easy for someone who doesn’t actually have a dedicated sewing area for now. Also, my actual fabric stash lives in moving boxes and they are piled out of reach in the spare bedroom of our rental home. I whipped out the two quilts rather quickly, but choosing prints from Carrie Bloomston’s fabric line rather than solids took me down a divergent design path. (I will reveal the results after the tops are quilted.)

With the duo completed and the backing fabrics seamed and prepped, I turned to my leftover fabrics. Here’s the draft layout:

Test scrappy layout

I like it because it’s quick, informal, and casual. Although, I did have to purchase more fabric for backing . . . So here’s the thing I’ve come to realize about my thrifty-fabric-use goals:  I’m never going to be done once I add the backing leftovers from the long-arm quilter to the remnants from the first go-around. You know I’ll have to purchase more fabric to finish the projects . . . OMG!

Narrowed signature

2 Comments

Filed under About, Patterns, Quilts

2 responses to “Crazy Quilt-Making Ambition Goes Awry

  1. David McClun

    Jennifer This is all very interesting. I just pulled a set of 30 year old blocks and they are multiple plain colored but they look so much like your inspiration quilt. What’s old is new again. Diana McClun

    Sent from my iPad Diana Mcclun

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

